Announcing Our Fall, 2015 Membership Conference!



Some Background About Honey and Honeybees

by Eugene Makovec, MSBA Newsletter Editor
  • Honey has been consumed by humans for centuries with no health concerns.
  • Honey is not a “processed” or “manufactured” food. It is a natural product, harvested directly from beehives and packaged in its pure form with no added ingredients.
  • Bacteria cannot live in honey.
    • Its low pH and dense sugar content retard bacterial growth.
    • Honey produces hydrogen peroxide as it breaks down, which also kills microorganisms.
    • Honey is even used as a wound dressing for cuts and burns, as it is antiseptic and promotes healing.
  • Honeybees are under increasing stress in recent years from parasitic mites, disease, habitat loss and other factors. With average winter losses of around 25 percent, the annual cost of replacing those colonies has contributed to high turnover among beekeepers. [Click here to view entire article >>>]


Interest in Queen Rearing on the Rise Across the State


Queen Rearing Student Learns the Art of Grafting

by Bruce Snavely, Southwestern Regional Director

In the past few years we have witnessed not only a substantial growing interest in becoming beekeepers throughout the state of Missouri, but also a higher interest in education and practice regarding raising Queens. This desire of many Missouri beekeepers to raise their own queens stems from several factors such as honey production, winter survivability, wanting a better hygienic bee to counter mites and pest like the Small Hive Beetle, and to create a more efficient business practice of sustainability. Many Missouri beekeepers want to supply local stock instead of bees with unwelcomed genetics and to be in greater control of their breeding stock. [Click here to view entire article >>>]


Members Gather for 2014 Fall Conference

Fall 2014 Conference

Beekeepers from across the region recently met in Jefferson City for the Fall Membership Conference of the Missouri State Beekeepers Association. More than 185 beekeepers enjoyed two days of beekeeping presentations, food and fun. The vendor hall and MSBA “Beehive Cafe” were a frequent stop as beekeepers traveled between presentations. Shown above are Cory Stevens along with a couple of unidentified attendees conversing with Dr. Leo Sharashkin at his booth in the vendor hall.

You can read all about the conference in the upcoming issue of the MSBA newsletter.

(Photo courtesy of Eugene Makovec)


New Queen Big Winner in Conference Cooking Contest


One of the big winners in the recent Cooking With Honey & Beekeeping Artwork Contest was our newly crowned queen for 2015, Erin Mullins. The contest was held at the Fall 2014 Membership Conference in Jefferson City. More information about the conference and the other winners of the contest will be available in the December MSBA newsletter.

(Photo courtesy of Wes Johnston)


Lots of Queens at the MSBA State Fair Booth!

Queens Visit MSBA State Fair Booth

It was a royal day recently at the MSBA state fair booth. On Friday, August 8th, the booth was visited by, not one, but two queens!

Our 2014 MSBA Honey Queen, Lauren Collins, was joined by reigning Mrs. Missouri, Dr. Erin Fluegge-Woolf.

Residing in Cape Girardeau, Erin has a special interest in honey bees and beekeeping. She holds a PhD in Business Administration and is a professor of management in the Harrison College of Business at Southeast Missouri State University.

She’ll soon travel to Tuscon, Arizona to compete in the Mrs. America contest. All of us at the MSBA are cheering for you, Erin.

We look forward to more visits from Erin at future MSBA events.

For more information about Erin and the Mrs. Missouri Pageant, click here.

A special thanks to our Honey Queen, Lauren Collins for spending the day in the booth. Lauren and our Honey Princess, Erin Mullins do a fabulous job representing the MSBA and getting the word out about our organization, beekeeping and honey bees.

(Photo courtesy of Wes Johnston)